Posted by: Jennifer Tai | April 4, 2008

Simple Chicken in Oyster Sauce and Ginger

Chicken in Oyster Sauce and Ginger

This has got to be one of my top three lazy dishes. This is also a dish Chinese women who’ve given birth eat, because it has loads of ginger. Takes only minutes to make and uses only six ingredients!

Ingredients

  • Chicken breasts, deboned, skinned and diced to big chunks one inch wide (three pieces)
  • Oyster sauce
  • Sesame oil
  • Cooking oil
  • Ginger, about four large tbsps, sliced to one-inch strips
  • Garlic, chopped (about two tbsp)

Method

  1. Heat about 2 tbsp of cooking oil and one tbsp of sesame oil in a skillet
  2. Fry garlic and ginger together for about a minute
  3. Toss in chicken and stir fry at high heat until chicken pieces are half white
  4. Toss in about three to four tbsp of oyster sauce, and mix.
  5. Lower to medium heat, cover and simmer for about 20 mins, stirring occasionally until chicken is cooked.
  6. Serve piping hot with rice!

 

Responses

  1. You’re back!

  2. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Odea.

  3. Hi! Just stumbled on your blog through google. My mum taught me that recipe too, although we used dark soy sauce instead of oyster sauce because we both are no big fans of oyster sauce. Anyway, you have some pretty great and simple recipes here, there’ll be great for me to cook as a student as well =)

  4. the food looks great

  5. This looks great…I’m have to try making this! Thanks!!!

  6. Hmmm.. yummy.. 🙂
    I’ll try this recipe..
    thanks for your information.. ^_^
    By the way, could the chicken we change with other ingredients?

  7. Now I have been cooking since I was 15 and beleive it or not never used oyster sauce.
    So this is wher I am going to lose my virginity as the recipe sounds good.
    I suspect I’ll use shallot instead of garlic, as we are not so keen on the flavour of the latter.
    No doubt follow the meal with a cup of fine Jasmine tea from our rehular supplier The Tea and Coffee Emporium to follow.
    Thanks for the post and the opportunity to comment.

  8. I’ve always loved oyster sauce! Now I have to try this amazingly simple recipe. It’s great for my 21 y.o. son, who’s learning to cook and hates veggies, but loves Asian food! His Hawaiian/Filipino girlfriend will love it too. Thanks for posting!

  9. Today I browsed through your blog and found it very informative with rich content. I would like to appreciate you for your great effort behind making such a great blog in the very competitive online health care industry.

  10. Piet Hein~ The Universe may be as great as they say. But it wouldnt be missed if it didnt exist.

  11. Everything is very open with a very clear description of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is useful. Thank you for sharing!

  12. I measured a sinusoidal wave with distortion (PF different of 1) with Debuy and after I compared with a Yokogawa wattimeter, I concluded that the Debu Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

Categories

