Posted by: Jennifer Tai | September 26, 2006

Malaysian Braised Mushroom Chicken

mushroomchick.JPG

This is perhaps one of the first dishes my mother taught me, which was the only dish I knew how to make perfectly for a very long time. My husband joked that he would eat nothing but that as soon as we got married.

This is a simple dish requiring less than ten ingredients to make. It is also a good one to serve at dinner parties, if one is serving Asian. What’s more, it is low fat and filling (if not taken with rice), ideal for those watching their waist lines!

Ingredients:

  • chicken drumsticks – I remove the skin
  • oyster sauce
  • dried scallops or pacific clams
  • dried Chinese black mushrooms, about four cups: pre-soak in water (just enough to cover the mushrooms, not too much as we need to use the water). Remember to remove the stems.
  • two-three tbsps of chopped (or one clove of)/ crushed garlic
  • cooking oil
  • two tbsps of sugar. In Malaysia, we use ‘ping tong’, which are sugar crystals. If you’re using ‘ping tong’, about one big rock, and one small. If you like it sweeter, then adjust accordingly. Brown sugar also works.

Method:

  • Fry garlic in two-three tbsps of cooking oil for 30 seconds. Make sure wok or skillet is on high heat.
  • Slip in drumsticks and cook for one to two minutes.
  • Toss in mushrooms and the water it was soaked in, and then sugar
  • Pour in minimum 2-3 tbsps of oyster sauce, or more according to your taste, and mix.
  • Cover and simmer at medium heat for 15 minutes, and then to low for another 15-20 minutes.

Serve with steamed rice for best results!

Responses

  1. hey! I guess you are a malaysian! I live in sweden and was searching for ginger-honey baked chicken and came across your blog.. i always make stew like this one you have but without the ping tong..next time i should add some brown sugar like u suggest! I will also try that honey baked chicken another time… looks good!

  2. Hey louise! Glad to see another Malaysian!

    That honey-baked chicken recipe I think I got from allrecipes or recipezaar, I don’t remember. It’s better with thigh meat I think!

  3. Great recipes. My son is mad about chicken drumsticks at the moment, so I will try this.
    I have added you to my Blogroll so I can keep returning to get more.

    cheers from Australia,
    Paul

    http://goldcoaster.wordpress.com/

  4. I got hungry by just reading the recipes and looking at the pictures 🙂

  5. Thank you so much for this recipe! Simple and delicious.

  6. hey! thank you for ur recipe.. this is what i want to find!! i miss this dish alot.. going to cook some malaysian food for my host family in US for thanks giving.. i am proud to introduce malaysia food to my host family.. haha.. excited!! hope they will enjoy it.. Jennifer thanks again ya..


Leave a Reply

Categories

