Posted by: Jennifer Tai | May 22, 2006

Chinese-style Chicken and Potatoes in Oyster Sauce

Been a while since I logged my cooking. The Hubby has been travelling so between having to care for the kids all by my lonesome and making sure the house doesn't burn down, I've been busy, to say the least.

But here's a dish that helps because it's just so simple to cook and needs only a few ingredients that you would most likely have in your home. My mom used to make this for us when she ran out of time. Simple, quick yet delish!

Ingredients (feeds two)

  • Chicken thighs, cut into drumsticks and thighs, about two sets
  • Oyster sauce
  • Potatoes, two, cubed
  • White Pepper
  • Garlic, chopped finely
  • Cooking oil

Instructions

  • Brown about a tbsp of garlic in one tbsp of oil, and then throw in the chicken pieces
  • When they are half cooked, throw in the potatoes, and then pour in 3 to 4 tbsps of oyster sauce and a dash of white pepper. I love the Lee Kum Kee brand OS.
  • Mix and cook for about 4 minutes.
  • Pour in two cups of water for gravy, and simmer for 20 minutes until chicken and potatoes are well-cooked

This is a great dish to eat on its own or over white rice, for kids. My wobbler (have to mash the 'taters and chicken up a bit for her) and preschooler love it, so it makes for one simple, quick dish for the whole family on days you just want to take it easy!

Responses

  1. Hi Jenn,

    I love this website! It has got so many quick, easy and delicious dishes! And because I am not very good in cooking, these recipes are perfect for me. I have tried out this chinese style chicken and potatoes in oyster sauce recipe, and it turned out great! Can’t wait for more of your recipes on this website!

  2. What is OS please! No. I do not have that in my pantry but I will take your word for it that it is good.

    I love to cook and I post recipes on my blog too. You probably already knew how to cut up a watermelon but I just learned so I had to blog about it. Hopefully you’ll stop by and educate me about Oyster Sauce as well!

  3. Will be sure to check your blog. Oyster sauce + garlic = miracle sauce!

  4. Have been cooking a very similar recipe for years. Showed to me by my mother. But I also add rehydrated black or shiitake mushrooms. My favorite oyster sauce is Lee Kum Kee, the one with the girl on a boat on the label.

  5. It nice to know about other dishes you can make,& the taste it send out in your tastebud.

  6. Sorry, tried this and didn’t like it.

  7. Great blog.. do u know how to make mousse and chocolate souffle in microwave?


Leave a Reply

Categories

