Posted by: Jennifer Tai | May 3, 2006

Baking bacon, instead of frying

One thing I hate about frying bacon is that it splatters everywhere, so I found this tip at http://www.kitchenhintsandtips.com/baking_bacon.shtml that taught me how to bake bacon in my oven instead! It's quick, clean and just as yummy!

Ps. Check it regularly to make sure they don't burn. Even though I used the settings recommended, my bacon didn't cook to crisp, so I added another about 12 mins at 400F and it fried nicely.

Responses

  1. Way cool tip, btw, love ur blog. Love cooking myself. Blog on

  2. i just have some bacon sitting in my freezer, and didn’t know what to do with it, till i found this. thanks!

  3. Great idea! I hate babysittin’ the bacon.

    Another idea: Buy the 3 lb. packages of “bacon ends” instead of bacon slices. (Look by the packaged hams) So much cheaper for recipes that chop the bacon up anyway. I keep cooked, chopped bacon in my freezer at all times.

  4. Hey there!

    Great tip! Makes sense as I also use a lot of crumbled bacon for recipes.

  5. My mother always placed a rack on the cookie sheet instead of foil. This allows the bacon grease to drip down into the cookie sheet instead of saturating the bacon. This also makes it easier and cleaner to pour the bacon grease into a jar for later use for fried chicken etc.

  6. I tried this both ways this morning and the baked bacon does not have the same flavor or texture. I was excited to think I could do away with frying the bacon, but it’s not to be.

  7. I sprinkle pepper on the bacon and dredge it in flour before baking it. A dash of salt may be needed after taking out the chicken fried bacon. Our family loves it.
    Wayne F

  8. I’ve done some on my blog, come check it out if you have a chance and let me know what you think. I like your blog btw.

    Joe

    http://cookingquest.wordpress.com

  9. Baking bacon takes time though, you’ve gotta wait for the oven to heat up which sends the power bill flying and takes ages and use a load of foil, which is a cunt to recycle. Then you put it in the oven and it takes about 10 minutes to cook.
    Personally I just whack the hob on, cook sausages and black pudding first then stick the bacon in, the grease is totally awesome for cooking all the other bits because it gives then a bacony quality. Then afterswards you can fry the beans and they taste bacony too. Takes all of 15 minutes to make a good fry up that way.

    Bacon is okay grilled sometimes but frying it gives it a better flavour, is much much quicker and makes any fried breakfast so much better.
    Also if its back bacon it has a tendancy to dry out badly in the oven which aint good.

  10. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. πŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

  11. hate the bake bacon it old cold it suck, you chain restaurant are do this, they don’t hire cook no more, i had french toast the other day it was bad it was made in a toaster it did not look like it had egg on it, pancake are white not there no browning to it. i even found that they deep fry sausage links, where did the real food go.

  12. […] Baking bacon, instead of frying | The Cooking Monster! – hate the bake bacon it old cold it suck, you chain restaurant are do this, they don’t hire cook no more, i had french toast the other day it was bad it was made in a toaster it did not look like it had egg on it, pancake are white not there no browning to it. i even found that they … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

